Meeting reports

The global community of synthesis centres has met twice:

      The first meeting of biological science synthesis centres was held in France from 9 to 11 October 2013 at the home of CESAB, the Centre for the Synthesis and Analysis of Biodiversity. The meeting, spearheaded by the trans-continental team of ACEAS (the Australian Centre for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis) and CESAB, brought together leaders of synthesis Centres from four continents: Europe (including the UK), Asia, North America and Australia.

      2013 ISC group photo

      Back left to right: Prof Luguang Jiang (CERN), Prof. Dawn Field (EOS), Dr Bruno Fady (CESAB-FRB), Dr Allen Rodrigo (NESCENT), Prof. Richard Price (Kiriganai Rearch Pty Ltd), Dr Lou Gross (NIMBioS).Front left to right: A/Prof Alison Specht (ACEAS-TERN), Dr Pamela Bishop (NIMBioS), Dr John Parker (Arizona State Uni), Prof. Richard Campbell (Charles Darwin Uni, TERN), Dr Marten Winter (sDiV), Ms Magali Grana (CESAB), Dr Eric Garner (CESAB-FRB) and Dr Frank Davis (NCEAS).Absent from photo: Dr Huixia Zhao (CERN), Dr Siddeswara Guru (ACEAS-TERN) and Dr Suzanne Long (TERN)

    • Return to top


      The second meeting was held at sDiv in Leipzig, Germany in February 2015.

      2014 ISC Group photo

      left to right back: Todd Vision (NESCent), Margaret Palmer (SESYNC), Andrew Campbell (TERN), Claire Salomon (CESAB), Jill Baron (Powell), Helge Bruelheide (iDiv), Frank Davis (NCEAS).
      Left to right front: Volker Grimm (iDiv), David Hawthorne (SESYNC), Tom Meagher (EOS), Pamela Bishop (NIMBioS), Diego Steinaker (CIEE/ICEE), Alison Specht (ACEAS), James Boyd (SESYNC), Marten Winter (sDiv), Colleen Jonsson (NIMBioS), Jonathan Kramer (SESYNC).

      The next meeting, in 2016 or 2017 will be held in the USA, jointly hosted by the John Wesley Powell Centre and SESYNC.




      Link to consortium wiki